August

She’s gone.


My Love has always spent August at her parents’ ranch. She helps with the August work: cutting, raking and putting up hay; riding fence; chasing strays; doctoring cattle; working on trucks and tractors and implements.

She rides her horse back into the wilderness. She honky-tonks with her high school friends.


Her whole family – parents, brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, cousins – gets together for a big cookout. Steak for the adults, burgers and dogs for the kids, potato salad, green beans, corn, tomatoes, cucumber slices, berry pies with home-made ice cream, home-baked bread.

In years past, the main sport at the cookout was teasing my Love about her lack of a love life. At last year’s cookout, she came out to her siblings. The next day, her sister outed her to the minister of her church – the minister who had been counseling me. The minister set us up a few days later.


My Love left for home on Friday.

I’ll join her out there this coming Friday – the first anniversary of the night we met. We’re having dinner at the same restaurant.

Her family cookout will be Saturday.

Everybody will be there this year: brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, grandparents, uncles, aunts, great uncles, great aunts, cousins, second cousins, even some third cousins. They are coming from three states.

Everybody wants to meet the girlfriend. (That would be me.) My family is coming, too.

My Love’s family is unusually close-knit, even out to second and third cousins. They are also hilariously boisterous. Should be a lot of fun.


After the cookout (and Sunday services at my old church), we’ll spend a few days at a “luxury guest ranch” in the mountains and the weekend with my parents. I don’t know what the sleeping arrangements will be. I’m not going to push it.

I’m less than 6 months into my new job; I can’t take off more than a week. My Love will come back with me and play Suzie Homemaker for the rest of the month.

8 thoughts on “August

  1. It makes me so happy to hear – and see (now that being LGBT+ is more common in my npt-as-tiny-as-yours-town) about your and your Love’s families being so open, accepting, and loving – even as strong Christians. My family – immediate and extended – are NOT supportive, accepting or open. My brother and I are both out and we are the best of friends buy otherwise no one else is “okay” with either of us “choosing to be gay and going to hell”. My extended family is not close. I just saw an aunt last weekend after 2 years – the last time was at her mother (my grandmother’s) funeral. When I came out to my family my mother responded with “Don’t think a girlfriend will ever be welcome in our home.” My dad said nothing. My sister said “I disapprove but I love you.” It’s tough and lonely and not a life I would wish on anyone. So it is so joyful to read your story of acceptance and love. Thank you for sharing it. God is definitely using you to reach hearts and minds.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

